June Newsletter

Hola! As we are all prepping to say Adios! for the year here,  I wanted to send one final newsletter.

The students have done an excellent job this year in Spanish. Many are starting to take my crazy talks about learning strategies seriously, and these are the students that are going to be really enabled to learn and grow independently.  My first and second graders did an outstanding job with their language bag review projects, and kindergarten has really done a great job with the vocabulary I’ve been teaching them this year!

With 10-11 weeks of summer ahead for the kiddos, this is a great time to emphasize the need to incorporate some educational activities into summer break. I’m sure the classroom teachers have sent home notes or reminders saying the same thing, and the reason is that it really is THAT important. 10-11 weeks is an extremely long time to a young child. I can remember my own summer breaks feeling like an eternity (though I feel shorted now in my adulthood with summers that fly by!).  In that period of time, children can forget a lot of material and begin to lose some of the skills they worked so incredibly hard to attain during the school year. Reading and math are critical skills that must be maintained in order for the children to keep moving along at the expected pace for their grade levels. You’ll be happy to know that you don’t have to convert yourself into a ready-made school teacher to review with your children. Just make sure you have them reading occasionally (if they love reading already, encourage it! Library field trips can be exciting!) and slip in some math concepts here and there. Cooking, traveling, and shopping are all easy contexts for math practice.  They’ll have to measure, estimate, and calculate in these activities. Even if you are the one paying for the groceries, ask them to help you calculate change, round up, subtract, and what not. (Though I do recommend having the kids pay because it’s a great activity to develop them socially!) Doing this too much to them may certainly annoy them, but your children may also enjoy the mental challenge if you sporadically embed these tasks into their every day lives.

On top of reading and math,  Spanish would be a great additional activity to throw in on occasion to help children maintain the vocabulary they have been studying.  Like people always say, “if you don’t use it, you lose it.” Our Spanish website is always available for some quick review, as are the children’s Spanish folders. If you want to help your kindergartener be successful, I have scanned some easy pages to keep them reading, writing and practicing their vocabulary in this Kindergarten Summer Review PDF.

That’s all for now. Have a great summer and I’ll see everyone in agosto! As the total workaholic that I am, you can bet I’ll be checking my email occasionally this summer, so if you have any questions for me, you know how to find me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

